Why Do SSRS Deployments Not Update Everything?

Recently I have been making some changes to our SQL Server Reporting Services machines.  I am finding that many of my changes are not taking effect on the server.

The deployment goes ok.  The reports show that they have been updated, but some things seem to not transfer.

For example, I changed the data source on some reports and redeployed them, but this new setting did not make it to the server.  If I delete the report and THEN deploy it, it works fine.

Another issue was with some reports where I was trying to change some of the parameters to take a default null value.  I made the changes in my reports and deployed.  The reports now ALLOWED a null value, but they were not setup for the null to be the default value. 

Once again deleting the report and deploying fixed the problem, but this is stupid.

Has anyone else had this problem, or have know of the reason why it doesn’t work right?

UPDATE:

I got a response from someone on this.  Apprently Microsoft felt that certain changers like changing report parameter details, could cause existing report parameter settings to be overwritten (well duh) and you as a developer probably didn’t realize what you were doing (hmmm yes I did) and so they don’t update everyone on the server when you redeploy a report.

Brilliant!  No warning, no message, just some things are not updated.

Advertisements

Rolling back changes on Team Foundation Server

Once in a while someone checks in some file they didn’t want checked in.

You can roll back these changes/checkins by using the Team Foundation Server Power Toy.

Team Foundation Server Power Tool Commands

Team Foundation Server Power Tool (tfpt.exe) is a command-line tool. To use these commands, start tfpt.exe at the Command Prompt. Some of the commands will display a graphical user interface when used. In addition, you can access the Annotate and Treediff commands from Source Control Explorer in Visual Studio or Team Explorer. Team Foundation Server Power Tool includes the following commands:

Unshelve Command
Use the unshelve command to unshelve and merge the changes in the workspace.

Rollback Command
Use the rollback command to roll back changes that have already been committed to Team Foundation Server.

Online Command
Use the online command to create pending edits on writable files that do not have pending edits.

GetCS Command
Use the GetCS (Get Changeset) command to get the changes in a particular changeset.

UU Command
Use the UU (Undo Unchanged) command to undo unchanged files, including adds, edits, and deletes.

Annotate Command
Use the annotate command to download all versions of the specified files and show information about when and who changed each line in the file.

Review Command
Use the review command to optimize the code review process to avoid checking in or shelving.

History Command
Use the history command to display the revision history for one or more files and folders. The /followbranches option returns the history of the file branch’s ancestors.

Workitem Command
Use the workitem command to create, update, or view work items.

Query Command
Use the query command to run a work item query and display the results. If you do not provide a specific query, all the active work items assigned to you are displayed.

TreeDiff Command
Use the treediff command to display a visual representation of the differences between files in two server folders, in a server folder and a local folder, or in two local folders.

Treeclean Command
Use the treeclean command to view and optionally delete files that are not under source control in the current directory and all subdirectories. This command is useful when you want to remove temporary files from your local workspace, such as files created by the compiler.

 

To use it for rollbacks, just add the install path to the tfpt.exe to your PATH environment variable.  Then, browse to the root of the project directory that you want to perform a rollback in and run “tfpt rollback” from the command line.

It will give you a user interface where you can find search for a chance-set to rollback.

Once you do it, you may have to “check in” the changes you just made, but I have used this several times and it has worked great.